A must read article about my people.

‘I Have the Blood of Kings and Queens in My Veins’

Julianne Jennings

6/16/14

Embrace the multiracial identities of Native America. I’ve come to realize blood mixing does not dilute my Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) heritage because historically our identities were not based on race.

Instead we were taught to honor all our relations, including multiple ones.

My children, as well as other children of mixed-race Indian heritage, will be taught not to accept someone else’s definition of who they are, no matter what their origins and will not allow a wedge to be driven between their traditions and their identity.

“Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it,” Nineteenth Century Spanish philosopher, George Santayana.

Dennis Hazard, Ninigret Descendant best sums it up by saying,

“I know who I am. I have the blood of kings and queens running through my veins.”

Which does not mean that history will inevitably repeat itself, but the chance of repeating a mistake is likely if you don’t read, discuss and contemplate on events that happened long ago.

http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2014/06/16/i-have-blood-kings-and-queens-my-veins