Racism is rampant in FaceBook

FaceBook apologizes to drag queens

BARBARA ORTUTAY AP Technology Writer NEW YORK

About three years ago I opened an account on FaceBook, as did millions of others, the account asked for and I wrote in my birth name while signing up to the account.

I was both in New London Connecticut at the hospital because our village has no hospital and my mother ‘had big problems with the back’.

As tradition requires a new born is given a name chosen by Kiehtan our Creator and passed down sometime before birth through the Spiritual leader or the Shechaim, you know as Chief Sachem.

At the time of birth my grandfather (Shechaim Ohjieshan Tallfox) was not allowed to write or speak the last name and was both, Spiritual leader/Shechaim and this was accomplished in the hospital.

My name is (Shechaim Ohjieshan Walkingfox) again not allowed to write or speak the last name, because of hospital regulations a notarized admission was added to cover hospital regulations however, as stated in this document, only an ad on, ‘non native name’ for simplicity for the doctors.

Again, my birth name is (Walkingfox) and as elders crossed the name changed along with age to its rightful name of (Shechaim Ohjieshan Walkingfox).

Now back to the reason for this post.

A few months before my computer was stolen and for some un-known reason, FaceBook canceled out my account without notice and stated that my account must be in my real name?

This is my real name?

I tried a number of times to contact FaceBook to no avail.

Why is this important?

Because I had pictures of my grandfather, father and the elders after many sweats while in the Pequot river cooling and all of the members of our tribe at this and many gatherings, I lost that account and both computers in Indiana so pictures are long gone.

Today I find out that, and mind you I am pleased that this happened for them, drag queens and the transgender are getting an apologizing from FaceBook, it would seem to me that because they are millions and I am one, I was just stuffed under the rug so to speak.

The only reason for a non native name is so this FaceBook can sell you for profit, I would have add a non native name it the time if even given the chance, this did not happen, just another slap in the face by non native companies!

In the Leesburg Florida Dailey Commercial newspaper this morning.

FaceBook is apologizing to drag queens and the transgender community for deleting accounts that used drag names like Lil Miss Hot Mess rather than legal names such as Bob Smith.

The world’s biggest online social network caught heat recently when it deleted several hundred accounts belonging to self-described drag queens, other performers and members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community. FaceBook has long required its users to go by their “real names” on the site for security purposes, to stand out from other social networks and so it can better target advertising to people. Now, the company says the spirit of its policy doesn’t mean a person’s legal name but “the authentic name they use in real life.”

“For Sister Roma, that’s Sister Roma. For Lil Miss Hot Mess, that’s Lil Miss Hot Mess,” Chris Cox, Face book’s vice president of product wrote in a blog post Wednesday.

Though the real names policy isn’t changing, the way FaceBook enforces it might.

Last month, the company suggested that performers such as drag queens have other ways of maintaining their stage identities on the site, such as creating pages that are meant for businesses and public figures. But a fan page is not the same as a regular FaceBook account and users were not happy with the suggestion.

While standing by the real names policy on Wednesday, Cox said “we see through this event that there’s lots of room for improvement in the reporting and enforcement mechanisms, tools for understanding who’s real and who’s not, and the customer service for anyone who’s affected.”

In the mean time I lost over 200 friends and most of my family/friends/culture and ceremony pictures for nothing!
P.S.
Can a company sell more on a Euro-American Name or on a complete history of a ‘First People’ of the land with pictures?

http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/wireStory/facebook-apologizes-drag-queens-policy-25898019

2 thoughts on “Racism is rampant in FaceBook

Comments are closed.