Gifting a Native American chief

Welcome to my visitor from Denver Colorado

http://www.denvergov.org/

Looking for information about

When does one offer tobacco to a Native American chief?

Short answer.

When you are fronted by one.

OK my friend, you are from Colorado and stopped at one of my postings with your question.

Native American Wedding Ceremony (Traditional)

http://mysmudgingblog.blogspot.com/2011/06/traditional-native-american-wedding.html

Remember that my people are in the northeast so, my answer should be about my people?

First, you may also check out this posting?

Native American gifting tobacco to an elder?

https://sachemspeaks.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/native-american-gifting-tobacco-to-an-elder/

On my trips in and around your area at natives of America gatherings I have noticed that if one wishes to speak to a chief, one first gifts an elder for guidance then follows that persons directions.

In my tribe things have lightened up somewhat, I am pleased to speak with everyone on as casual a visit as possible however, tobacco (Kinnick, Kinnick) although not necessary, is always welcome, we use a lot of it in our ceremonies.

I hope that this helps you and blessings from Kiehtan on visiting the chief?

2 thoughts on “Gifting a Native American chief

  1. Unfortunatley, my grandparents are from Poland and Czechoslovokia. However, at a recent pow wow, one of the participants said that with my high cheek bones I should not rule out the possibility of an Indian heritage. He hinted that some of the natives to this country had arrived from those lands thousands of years ago.

    Don’t know why I have always been interested in the Indian heritage. I thought as a child that perhaps it was because I lived in a small town called Indian Camp in Ohio. Our farm had rock shelves that I always pretended were places the Indians lived. There were places smoothed out like there had been places for cooking or grinding. At that time I did not know to look for petroglyphs. Not sure if I could get down in that grown up woods again.

    Thanks for the connection,
    Bev

    Like

    • Bev
      So much to teach, I also have been enjoying your travels. OK, the gypsy people were all over Poland and Czechoslovakia as well as many other countries, when these people came across to the new land many landed in your area, not to say that you are a descendent of gypsy or that one of your ancestors married into a tribe however?

      Like

Comments are closed.