My newspaper, my state, my town, Your Military

My newspaper, my state, my town, Your Military

ar-161209906_jpgmaxw960q75

Our War

Beyond duty:

Veterans honored for giving back

Hartford Connecticut

Three locals will be inducted into the Connecticut Veterans’ Hall of Fame, which recognizes honorably discharged military veterans for their contributions to their communities, in a ceremony on Dec. 7 at the Legislative Office Building.

Frank Conahan

joined the Navy in 1960, having only completed the eighth grade, and went on to serve for 26 years, retiring as a lieutenant commander.

Navy veteran William “Paul” Orstad, 75, of Norwich

also will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Dec. 7.

Orstad spent 20 years in the Navy and served on five different submarines, retiring in October 1979 as a chief petty officer.

Linda Schwartz,

72, of Pawcatuck, an Air Force veteran, has served as assistant secretary for policy and planning for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs since October 2014.

http://www.theday.com/military/20161201/beyond-duty-veterans-honored-for-giving-back

The Day Paper

j.bergman@theday.com

The war of shame no more.

4 thoughts on “My newspaper, my state, my town, Your Military

Comments are closed.