Players turn out to say ‘thanks’

This to me is real sportsmanship

And

I thank God for eyes to read this.

579bc529a26c9_image

Players turn out to say ‘thanks’ to Leesburg’s ultimate assistant

Posted: Saturday, July 30, 2016

http://www.dailycommercial.com/news/article_fe405bdc-a45f-57a8-a19b-12c68222f87f.html

“These are my girls,”

Upshaw boasted to staff members and her fellow residents on Wednesday

as she carried a basketball and strode proudly to an outdoor patio.

“This is my basketball team.

My players.

They’re all my children and they came to see me.

“This is a very happy day for me.”

Upshaw has followed

Leesburg sports

for more than

70 years.

She attended Lake County Training School

a facility built for

African-American students

in the 1920s

and was later renamed Carver Heights High School.

At LCTS,

Upshaw

played basketball

and was nicknamed

“Big Train”

because of her hardwood prowess.

Ms. Upshaw

579bc52922c8f_image

Ophelia Upshaw holds a basketball

given to by

former Leesburg High School athletes

on Wednesday.

“The only thing she ever wanted was for us to be the best we could be,”

said Tiffany Cosgrove,

a former basketball player.

“For some of us, that was a tough lesson to learn.

She was tough on us, but she always respectful to us.”

