Some of the Hindu beliefs never made it to America.

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated”~~~ Mahatma Gandhi.

http://www.wfad.org/about/gandhi.htm

According to various information about Hinduism there is no distinction between human beings and other life forms.

All life forms, including plants and animals are manifestations of God. There are no exceptions. http://www.hinduwebsite.com/hinduism/essays/animals.asp

Compassion is most important for happiness. We must treat fellow human beings as equal, that is very important, but also all beings who have capacity for feeling. So the innate desire for happiness that is the basis of human rights extends to all sentient beings, including animals. His Holiness The Dalai Lama

http://www.nansealove.com/Quotes.html

Mahatma Gandhi often would hold up talks with any countries dignitaries to feed or tend to his goats, or any animal for that matter.

Some of Mahatma Gandhi’s religion Hinduism never made it to the United States of America!

Hotels, Motels, Inns and Suites run by people from India do not allow pets, if they must allow pets they do whatever it takes to make the stay as uncomfortable as possible.

If you are wondering why I am placing this on my Sachem Speaks blog? Because I am a Simi retired spiritual teacher, I travel around Indian country, I will not travel unless it is possible to take my two girls along and make it into a mini vacation. One is the love of my life, the other is my Airedale, therein lies the ruff, finding a descent place for them while I am teaching.