US Navy fined for ‘illegal entry’ at Philippines coral reef

http://rt.com/usa/news/us-navy-coral-reef-523/

I am so sorry to learn that the people that this government are still placing in charge of our War Ships has not changed much since the beginning of this country?

The audacity of the person or persons in charge of any ship that is warned of an upcoming disaster and still plows ahead because “I am a United states of America Captain of a big boat and I am in charge”! note a little sarcasm, couldn’t help it knowing that it happens far too many times.

Please do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time in the service of my country and am still proud, also happy to have made it out with all of my body parts.

I was always frustrated at the way this same navy would take a raw land lover fresh out of college drop them on the bridge of any warship and then be shocked if things go wrong?

Back in the 60’s I know that when someone fresh out of high school, like me, gets placed, as needed, not as promised, as a grunt. you learn from others.

You have many people above you rightly or wrong teaching you to become a sailor.

This “Captain” was warned for the coming danger to this extremely fragile Tubbataha Reef and fluffed it off!

So now we try wiggling out of it by blaming Mother Nature?

On Jan. 17, the USS Guardian, an American minesweeper, went aground the coral reef, even after receiving radio complaints from park rangers assigned to warn oncoming ships of the World Heritage-listed site’s location. After park rangers contacted the USS Guardian, the ship captain told them to direct their complaints to the US embassy instead. The US Navy then continued along their route, going aground against the Tubbataha Reef and getting stuck.

The US Navy released a statement after the incident, blaming the slip-up on bad weather, wind and waves

I am sure everyone remembers this one?

US Naval Chief: Please divert your course fifteen degrees to the North to avoid a collision.

Unidentified Vessel: Recommend you divert your course fifteen degrees to the South to avoid a collision.

US Naval Chief: This is the captain of a US Navy ship. I say again, divert your course.

Unidentified Vessel: No, I say again, divert your course.

US Naval Chief: This is the aircraft carrier Enterprise. We are a large warship of the US Navy. Divert your course now!

Unidentified Vessel: This is a lighthouse. Your call.

http://pulsemedia.org/2010/10/31/killing-reconciliation-in-afghanistan/

